Hunger Games Workout: Week 1

Hello All!

I start out every single holiday with the best intentions. Even though I like to read, write, and watch movies, and make time for these pastimes while on holiday, I also plan to spend time every single day on my health and wellness, making nutritious meals and snacks, doing yoga every morning and evening, working out once a day. This holiday was no exception, except instead of loyally honoring my commitments, I’ve been engaging in some downright slothfulness (though well-deserved, I think). Take this weekend. I went for a lovely Saturday afternoon walk, but was unfortunately rained in on Sunday. As a result, I read nearly five-hundred pages of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, ate cheesecake, and watched Vera, Vantage Point, Father Brown, and Call the Midwife.

Ooops! (at least I booked a chiropractor appointment, that’s something healthy).

That said, today I decided no more excuses! I can still have fun and stay healthy. I will be honest and say that I did not do all of the HG workout. However, I decided to take baby steps (I do live in Canada, and we are somewhat hindered, exercise-wise in winter) and incorporate some poses in my regular yoga exercise.

Here’s a link to what the workout looks like: http://www.jabberjays.net/2014/03/15/a-hunger-games-workout-by-neilarey-com/

I incorporated steps 4, 6, and 7.

Here’s what I’ve noticed after only doing this a few times:

– Less hip pain

– Better posture (core muscles are worked), and better overall feeling of core strength

-Just the nice feeling of being limber and stretched out

Not to mention, my stomach already looks a little flatter. This is exciting, since starting university, it’s been a bit of the battle of the bulge, no matter how good I eat.

My verdict, overall, is that this could, over time, be a really fun and effective workout. I’ll let you all know how I’m doing over the weeks. That said, next week I will not be doing my HG workout. I’m having wisdom tooth removal done later this week, and am not supposed to be hanging upside down, for fear of dislodging the blood clot, post-surg.

Anyway, best to all! 🙂

Em

Leave a Reply

