Blog Tour Interview: Alicia Michaels Interview

Hey All,
It has been a crazy few weeks. I basically didn’t have much of a computer to blog on over the last little bit, but that’s finally back to normal. Phew! Anyway, today I have two new interviews that I’ve been excited to share since this summer! This one is from Alicia Michaels, author of The Bionics Series:

1. What inspired you to write your novel?
I was very much inspired by current events, and progressing them in my mind so I could examine the possibilities of a very bleak and dystopian future. I thought a lot about the way politics has gotten so out of control, and none of our leaders seem to truly be out for the best interest of the people. I thought about society and the way we treat each other, discriminating on the basis of race, gender, sexual orientation, or religion. I thought about how wasteful we are, and how we disregard nature and the earth so blithely. Taking all of those things, I imagined a future in which all of these things have converged to turn society into something stark, harsh, and ugly.

2. What were the easiest parts to write?
The banter between characters comes so easily, it’s almost like magic. These people exist in my head and they all carry a mark, some personality trait that comes directly from me. So when I get in their heads and start writing their interactions, it’s like having a conversation with myself.

3. What were the hardest parts to write?
The Bionics is a very action-packed series, and I have to say that makes it difficult at times. It is hard to visualize all that goes on. In any one action scene in the Bionics books, there is hand-to-hand combat, there are weapons (both the usual weapons like guns or knives, but also bionic body parts that can be weaponized), and on top of that futuristic vehicles with artillery weapons … it’s really such a juggling act, trying to remember where people are, who they’re fighting, what weapons they’re using, etc. One fight scene often takes me days to write because with each book I try to bring something new, and the fights are never just one one one; they are battle scenes between two sides in a war.

4. What are some of your favourite YA novels?
One of my old favorites from back in the day were Nancy Drew and R.L. Stine Books. I wonder if those are considered more Children’s than YA? The genres have changed so much since I was a young adult. I also adored the Chronicles of Narnia, and all of the Sweet Valley High books. Nowadays, of course I have to add The Hunger Games to that list!

5. I have to ask (it is a dystopia blog): what are some of your favourite dystopian novels (or just one)?
In high school I read the book 1984, which I loved! It really resonated with me and is one of those classics that stuck with me over the years.

6. Favourite writing snack?
I have to have my coffee of course! Also, anything sweet and/or crunchy! Peanuts, pretzels, chips, popcorn … crunching things helps me think.

7. If you could be any character in your novel, who would you like to be?
Seeing as how she’s got two hot alpha males fighting for her heart, I’d have to say my main character, Blythe! LOL!

8. What do you hope readers will learn from/take away from your novel?
I hope it teaches them to love others, and to celebrate differences instead of trying to persecute others for them. I think our society has progressed so much, but in a way we are going backwards when it comes to how we treat each other. I hope people will read it and realize that no matter our differences we are all human and should strive to tolerate and accept one another.

Thanks so much for the interview Alicia!!!!

Here is a link to Alicia’s website: http://www.fantasybyalicia.com/

Leave a Reply

