Blog Tour Interview: Lauren Nicolle Taylor

Here’s the second interview I promised. Lauren Nicolle Taylor is the author of The Woodlands, an awesome new novel from Clean Teen Publishing!

1. What inspired you to write your novel?

The Woodlands started out as a simple thought: What would you do if you woke up pregnant and didn’t know how or when it happened. It then grew around that to include themes of racism, broken homes and first love.

2. What were the easiest parts to write?

I love writing the really emotional scenes. I find it much easier to be dramatic and heart-wrenching.

3. What were the hardest parts to write?

The humourous parts were always more challenging. That, and keeping timelines straight in my head. I’ve never written with an outline so it can get a bit confusing and messy up there.

4. What are some of your favourite YA novels?

I adored The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay it is one of those books that has stayed with me long after I finished it.

5. I have to ask (it is a dystopia blog): what are some of your favourite dystopian novels (or just one)?

My favourites are the Under the Never Sky trilogy by Veronica Rossi and the Juliette Chronicles by Tahereh Mafi.

6. Favourite writing snack?

I’m a chip-o-holic but not just any chips, they need to be fancy flavours like sea salt and apple cider vinegar or beetroot and caviar (just kidding about that last one).

7. If you could be any character in your novel, who would you like to be?

I think I’d like to be Deshi. He’s super smart and can make a radio out of a coconut (not really but you get the idea). I’d love to be that resourceful and intelligent. He also has some great, quippy one-liners. I’m never that fast on my feet with comebacks.

8. What do you hope readers will learn from/ take away from your novel?

I hope readers take away from my series a sense of hope for the future but not blind hope. There needs to be an understanding that in order for things to change, people need to change first. I also hope readers will come away with a sense of what it’s like to be in a respectful and rewarding relationship. That it takes hard work but is ultimately well worth it.

Thanks so much for the interview, Lauren!!!! Here is a link to Lauren’s website: http://www.laurennicolletaylor.com/

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour Interview: Lauren Nicolle Taylor

Leave a Reply

