Winter (and late Fall) Update

Hi All!!!

Well, it’s been forever, hasn’t it? I’m sorry it’s been so long, my life has been crazy!!!!!!!!!!! It’s my final (God-willing and fingers crossed) year of university, so I’ve been working really hard to make sure that I do good work and that my grades are good. Because it’s my last year, doing the best I can is really important to me, because I know that unless I choose to go back to school, this will be the last time that I will complete academic schoolwork. It’s both an exciting and sad thought, but I’m super excited to move on to new things.

Doing this, however, hasn’t made for the most relaxing term. I worked through not one, but two nights, and also spent a lot of time working late and getting up early to try and make things as perfect as possible. Trust me,  sitting up at 4 a.m bawling over Ed Sheeran’s “Photograph” and “Thinking Out Loud” and drinking yet another cup of coffee is not a pretty sight.  It’s been rewarding, in that I won a scholarship and made the dean’s list, but I think my new Year’s Resolution this year might be to take it a little easier on myself!

Speaking of New Year’s, I hope everyone had a great Christmas (or whatever holiday you celebrate in winter :)) I certainly did, although it’s all going much faster than I’d like! But I’ve been enjoying spending time with my family and catching up on reading and writing for fun. I read a lot of different books at any one given time, but I am currently reading Heather Letto’s dystopian novel, Impervious. I’m almost done and will be writing a review on it in the next couple of days. It’s super-good, so I know you’ll all love it as well! Also, check back for my new-cover reveal of Ruth Silver’s Dead Girl Walking. I’ve been going through some HTML issues, but I’m trying to get those sorted. Come January, I’ll also be reviewing a few other great YA titles that are leftover from my fall reading. I was lucky enough to get Pierce Brown’s sequel to Red Rising, Golden Son, and will be reviewing that to coincide with its release, so keep checking back!

As far as my writing’s been going, it’s been going well. I had all these elaborate plans to completely revise my YA novel over the winter break (right, like that was ever going to happen), but I got a bit slowed down from leftover repetitive motion strain from fall. However, I have made some changes, and have a really good idea where I’m going with it. I also have begun a Christmas story, the beginning of which is with a publisher now. And I have also spent some time thinking about how to revise a novella I wrote a couple of years ago. No promises, but I’m thinking that I may be able to gift it to you guys as a free ebook! I hope so, anyways.

Anyway, lots happening! Hope to be back soon! Until then, happy New Years!!!

x Emily

Leave a Reply

