New Year, New (well not new, but improved) Blog + what I’m Looking Forward to this Year

Hi All!

Happy New Year!!!!! Can’t believe it’s already a new year. Time flies. Anyway, I thought I’d add a couple things that I didn’t already add in my Fall/Winter update.

I’m celebrating two years of blogging in February!! So excited. I can’t believe that it’s been two years already. This blog is so special to me, and I really feel that it’s “grown up” with me over the past couple of years. The more I’ve read and blogged, the more wonderful people I’ve met and my interests have expanded. That’s why I’m pleased to announce that this blog is undergoing some changes in the new year. I’m planning on changing the format to fit more a “book blog” style. I love my old style and will miss it, but it isn’t the most functional for the intents and purposes of this blog. If anyone has any suggestions for free WordPress templates that suit a book blog, please let me know. Also, I’ll be adding some other features, like an expanded review policy section, additional services, and an email address that’s designated especially for this site.

Dystopia Capitol is also no longer going to be a purely dystopian-focused blog anymore. It hasn’t been for some time, so I figured it’s time for a change. Right now, I’ll be focusing on not just YA fiction, but also book that will appeal to young readers. even adult books (that’s books marketed to the over-18’s, not X-rated books :)). So that’ll be YA, NA, and also other books I think teens will appreciate, like Kate Morton’s books. Dystopian fiction is still close to my heart, and I will still specialize in it, I just wanted to expand a bit.

I’m restarting school again soon, so I don’t know what sort of free time I’ll have, but I have another idea for blogging that I think you guys will enjoy. I’ll keep you posted!!

Is there anything I can write about that you’d like to see in 2015? Any books I should review, or topics I could cover? let me know!!

And now, some of the top things I’m looking forward to this year (book and movie wise, and in no particular order):

1. Sherry D. Ficklin’s Queen of Tomorrow. I adored the first book in this series, Queen of Someday, and am so excited for a sequel. Plus there’s another gorgeous cover to look at!

2. The Heir by Kiera Cass. When I heard that Kiera Cass’s final book in the Selection trilogy was not the final book, and that there would be another, I SCREAMED. Plus this one is quite far in the future, when America’s children are grown. Seeing Maxon and America all grown up and middle aged together with a couple of kiddos will the most adorable thing ever. Plus (yeah, I know) it comes out just three days before my birthday!

3. Mockingjay Part 2 and Insurgent. Well, duh!

What are you all looking forward to this year?

x Emily

2 thoughts on “New Year, New (well not new, but improved) Blog + what I’m Looking Forward to this Year

  1. I think it’s great that your blog is expanding to encompass all sorts of books. I love NA and am hoping that 2015 will be its break out year! (Although I have said that for two years running…) Looking forward to the new content 🙂

    • Thanks Rosanne! I’m really excited to be encompassing other types of books as well. I think NA is getting there. It’s a tough genre to crack, because some new adults either like reading adult novels or young adult novels, but I think that NA definitely has a special place. I love your yearly predictions (I think you really get it right, which is so cool)! Hopefully I get to spend more time blogging/reading blogs this year!!

Leave a Reply

