My Favourite Books (2015 edition)

Since I’ve started this blog, I’ve talked about more books than I can count, whether in reviews, or critiques, or cover reveals. I’ve gabbed and gushed, and sometimes even talked about books that I don’t like. But I haven’t really spent a lot of time talking about books that aren’t new and hot, especially since converting from a purely dystopia-oriented blog to a more open-ended one.

Recently, I enjoyed the glorious week-of-all-weeks, better known to university and college students as “Reading Week.” Although I had way too much work to read anything new for pleasure, I did have to review Anne of Green Gables for a test. I say “had to,” but Anne is actually my favourite book ever. Getting to read it is always a pleasure (I’ve re-read it almost every year since I was eight), and every time I read it I get a new understanding of it. Because I’ve read it so often, I also get a bunch of good memories flooding back at me every time I re-read it.

Book lovers will understand. While some books are enjoyable for a time, or a guilty pleasure, some books stick with us for life. Their words make us smile, or their characters feel like friends. Sometimes, in these cases, even holding a copy of the book is enough to touch us. So, in honour of favourite books, I’ve decided to share some of mine, as of February 2015. It’s maybe not an exhaustive list, but it’s the books that are at the top of my head. Which maybe establishes them as my favourites.

1. Anne of Green Gables (and Anne of Avonlea, and Anne of the Island)

2. Anything by Jane Austen

3. Little Women and Rose in Bloom by Louisa May Alcott

4. Writing Jane Austen by Elizabeth Aston

5. The Secret Keeper by Kate Morton (I like pretty much anything she writes, but this one is my favourite)

6. The Hunger Games Trilogy by Suzanne Collins

7. The Selection by Kiera Cass

8. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens

9. Anything by Agatha Christie

10. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Anne Shaffer and Annie Barrows

11. Where the Heart Is by Billie Letts

12. The Walk series by Richard Paul Evans

13. Fallen Angel by Don J. Snyder

14 Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

15. After the Fear by Rosanne Rivers

16. Queen of Someday by Sherry D. Ficklin

Leave a Reply

