The Painted Veil, Dystopian Style: My New Weekly Series

Hey All!

You know how I’ve promised you that I had a project in the works that I would be able to show you soon? Well…soon is now!

Although it was top-secret at the time, I can now announce that I’ve been working on a dystopian YA novella based on M. Somerset Maugham’s The Painted Veil. Although I had originally planned to turn it into a free ebook, I’ve decided to release it chapter by chapter about every week or so for the next few weeks. The Painted Veil is one of my favourite movies, and although I’ve enjoyed the original novel, I always felt dissatisfied by it. The Kitty in the novel, a twenty-five year old at the beginning, seemed so childish at the beginning, then so suddenly knowledgeable and wise.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great book, but I always felt that Kitty suited a younger character, who is only just beginning her journey. Also, there’s no way you could work that novel into a modern context (or maybe there is, but  I honestly can’t see it), but I couldn’t help but wonder; what would happen if the bored, twenty-five year old Kitty was placed in the context of a trapped, feisty teenager? And what if the natural confines of a certain time period were swapped for the forced confines of a dystopian society?

Cue all the dystopia stereotypes in all their corny glory. You’ll notice that I do a lot of those, like capitalised “Society.” Keep in mind, although I wrote this with serious intent, this could qualify as fan fic. Also, keep in mind that I haven’t had this professionally copyedited, so there may be some grammatical issues. But I know you won’t mind, ’cause free reading, right?!

Anyway, I hope you enjoy. Feel free to read, comment, print off. Just DON’T take this of my blog and pass it off as your own . Good? Good!

XO,

Emily

Leave a Reply

