A Change of Seasons

Hi Everyone!

Right now, the sun is setting and it’s getting a little cooler. There’s a lot of wasps buzzing around and the berries on the tree that hangs over my backyard swing keep falling off and whacking me on the head (you can see the said tree in my profile picture in the “About” section). Apparently, this is all a sign of an early fall. I hope not! I love fall, but to be honest, except from an April heat wave, we didn’t have the nicest spring. I know, just a lovely image of Manitoba living, isn’t it? 🙂

Just like how the seasons are slowly (sometimes quickly) changing here, this blog is going through a change of seasons. Anyone who read my previous post knows that I have a brand new computer. New computer, new rules! Although I still plan to have some long posts (like my serial novella based on “The Painted Veil”), I’m going to try to post more often, but with shorter posts. I have a few leftover reviews to get to from this past spring, as well as new ones coming. Plus you can all look forward to a new interview from awesome teen and children’s writer, Anita Daher, coming soon! Please feel free to comment. I don’t get a lot of comments, and I love hearing about what people like, or are interested in, or want to read more about. Even if you just want to say hi, please do!

On a personal level, I’ve decided to expand my horizons a bit. I’ll write a bit about what caused this actual change in a later post, but for now, I’ll just share that I’m planning to go back to school! It’s another long story for another time, but I had an option to graduate with my standard four-year BA in English this fall, or to take an extra semester to make sure I got my specialization in Children’s and Young People’s Texts and Cultures. Guess which one I picked? Glutton for punishment, I chose to keep on the specialization path because I love children’s lit, and because at the time I hadn’t planned on ever going back to school, at least not for English. Over the summer (again, long story, I’ll tell you later) certain events made me realize how I love what I do and that I’d be sad to stop when there are so many other avenues that I haven’t explored yet! It’s all very exciting. I still hope to work fulltime in communications throughout the rest of the year, throughout qualification #2, as well as afterwards because that’s what I love to do on a day-to-day basis. However, I’ve decided to either go back to school short term (4-10 weeks) for my TESOL certificate, or long term (about a year, or two part-time) for my master’s in English or Communications (different degrees are similar, but have different names and specializations). We’ll see where I am in a year, but I’m happy that I’ve decided to keep my options open.

Anyway, I hope everyone else is treasuring these last, gorgeous days of summer, and that you are all looking forward to the change that autumn brings!

x, Em

Leave a Reply

