One (of many) of the Reasons I Love Writing

Hi Everyone!

Happy Fall!!! Gosh it looks like fall out, although, mercifully, it’s still warm (yay for warm falls!).

I’ve been having a bit of a bad day, so I thought I’d take a few minutes away from the article review for school I’m trying to revise to talk about one of my favourite things (besides reading); writing! Maybe not article reviews always, but I love everything about writing. Don’t get me wrong, I have days I’m a bit written out. But for the most part, writing makes me feel better when I’m having a rough day.

There are many reasons why I love writing, too many to describe in the few minutes I have right now. But I thought I’d share one of the reasons. Many professional writers believe that writing is a job, passion, or vocation; not an emotional outlet. That it can be fulfilling, but not cathartic or enjoyable. That’s fair enough. After all, writing can be all of those things. However, in defense of those who identify with writing as a cathartic or enjoyable process, I can proudly say I’m a card-carrying “emotional writer.” Just like how an emotional eater (I’ve been there too) takes pleasure from mac and cheese sliding down their throat, or from the soothingly repetitive process of popping sour candies in their mouth, I love the feeling of my fingertips racing across the keys, pounding down the words that are a part of my characters-their thoughts, their feelings, and the binary between the two. Even if I don’t necessarily feel the same way as my characters do, it’s a real “take that” moment for me when I can help them get to where they need to be.

Beside my fictional writing, I also get a total sugar buzz from article and essay writing, and, especially, blogging. I’m so excited to share more stuff soon!

Anyway, my sweet reader friends, thanks for being part of my very emotional writing process !

x, Em

Leave a Reply

