Author Interview: P.R. Principe

Hey All! Now that you’ve just read my book review of Omega Plague: Collapse (if you haven’t read it here: https://iluvhg.wordpress.com/2015/10/13/book-review-omega-plague-collapse-by-p-r-principe/), check out my interview with its talented author, P.R. Principe!

Here, Principe talks about how Omega Plague came to be, his favourite liquid writing snack, and getting his amateur radio license. Enjoy!

Emily’s Interview with P.R. Principe:

. How exactly did you get the idea for your book? Did you want to be a writer before you wrote it?

I remember some late night banter with a friend of mine (a few years ago now) that planted the seed of an idea. It was clear to me that the area around Naples, Italy and the island of Capri would be the best place for the story to unfold. It fact, given the central idea for the story, it may be one of the few places in which this story could occur. But I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t read it yet!

I thought it would be an accomplishment just to write a novel, like running a marathon, but I never dreamed I would actually ever finish it, writing it at night, here and there. I’ve researched and written on various subjects as part of my “day” jobs over the years, but I hadn’t done any creative writing since I was much younger. So, it’s a personal milestone for me, and I’m pleased just to have it finally done.

  1. Do any particular books or authors influence your writing?

I’ve read quite a bit of post-apocalyptic fiction over the years, but a colleague of mine who read Omega Plague: Collapse told me it was like The Road meets Earth Abides. They are two great books, and if those are my influences, then that’s awesome.

  1. Are you a more of a plotter or a “pantser”?

Total “pantser,” no flashcards, no outline, other than a general idea of where the story is going. Sometimes I have a very clear idea for a scene or chapter. But many times, I’ll just write and see where it leads, which is probably why I feel like writing takes me so long! That said, if something occurs to me, such as ideas for a character or scene, I make notes at the end of the manuscript, adding as I go along.

  1. Do you listen to any music while you write? If so, what types?

Yes, sometimes classical music on the local radio station. Other times, ambient music like Longplayer.org, which is a musical composition designed to last 1000 years. I might listen to dark ambient music like Squaremeter’s Tolkien-inspired album “War of Sound.” Also, I started listening to Ager Sonus in 2014. Some of their recent music incorporates shortwave transmissions from numbers stations. Eerie and dark, their music is perfect for getting into a post-apocalyptic groove.

  1. Favourite writing snack?

Wine. It’s the only snack I’ve found that makes writing easier.

  1. What are some of your favourite dystopian or post-apocalyptic novels?

There are so many good ones, but two that come to mind first are A Canticle for Leibowitz and Alas, Babylon. Nothing like some nuclear hellfire to jump start a story!

  1. I noticed in your bio that you have an amateur radio license. I’m a little bit jealous, that sounds so cool! How did you get that, and what inspired you to get it?

About seven years ago, I started teaching a graduate course in emergency planning. But my main work is not that field, so I thought should do something more “hands-on” to gain experience in emergency communications. I studied on line and passed all three amateur radio exams. I’m an Amateur Extra class now. The FCC eliminated the Morse code requirement, but I can do some very, very, slow Morse code with an old style telegraph key. There’s something quite haunting about the sound of radio late in the evening, particularly the on ham radio bands and shortwave. Those bands are static-filled and scratchy, with lone voices in the night, quite the opposite of the smooth stereo of FM.

  1. Do you have anything new in the works?
    Just started the sequel to Omega Plague: Collapse.

***************

Thanks so much for the interview!!!!!

To learn more about P.R. Principe, visit his website: http://www.prprincipe.com/

Leave a Reply

